PDA

View Full Version : first attempt

fisharound
04-17-2003, 04:44 AM
I am just learning and have been playing with acrylics now for about a year of so.

I have heard so much talk of watercolor and thought I should dabble in it....... :D

Would you please tell me what you thought.

All comments and suggestions are more than welcome here as I have laid out the biggest welcome mat I could find

Lines
04-17-2003, 05:55 AM
Dabble away. You may come to love it. Don't try
to force light colours over dark and learn to accept
that mistakes sometimes cannot be corrected, and
to stop over-painting before the colours become 'muddy'
and non-transparent. Painting materials like paper
and paints should in the long run be cheaper, and
your results almost instantaneous in comparison.
Some of the works shown here can be inspirational.

painterbear
04-17-2003, 07:19 AM
Hello Mary,

Welcome to the Watercolor Forum. I hope you enjoy your venture into watercolors enough to keep painting with them. They do take some getting used to, especially when it comes to letting them "do their own thing" and merge and blend on the paper.

In your painting I really like the sky and distant mountains a lot. The foreground mountains need some variation to give them dimensionality (see how you did the dips and valleys in the back band of mountains).

BTW, if you use the Uploader button at the top of the page to attach your image in your thread, we can see your painting as we post our reply. This gives us the opportunity to take a second look and make a more thorough analysis or critique.

M.A.
04-17-2003, 07:28 AM
Hi Mary,
Welcome aboard!!! Lovely piece you've submitted here ... I look forward to seeing more...

Bill J
04-18-2003, 01:43 PM
Real good start. I've found the more transparents I do the lighter I get. Save these early pics and If you are like me you will see a difference in your work as you TRY to master transparents.
bill

Sylvielu
04-18-2003, 01:48 PM