PDA

View Full Version : Fighting Stallions

Lorrainejoy
04-15-2003, 01:03 AM
MY IMAGE(S):
http://www.wetcanvas.com/Critiques/upload_spool/04-15-2003/21336_Fighting_Stallions.jpg

GENERAL INFORMATION:
Title: Fighting Stallions
Year Created: 2003
Medium: Mixed-Media
Surface: Board
Dimension: 16
Allow digital alterations?: Yes!

MY COMMENTS:
This art piece is a mixed media where I had only the reference photo of the horses. I had to make up the background myself.

MY QUESTIONS FOR THE GROUP:
My concerns are, one, did I use the right colors to create depth in the painting, or should I have used other colors that would be better to show the depth in this. I appreciate any comments.

bocote
04-15-2003, 01:22 AM
nice work. I'll be honest and say that I am not a horse expert, but these 2 are done very well.

Specifically looking at the debth that you created: pastel blue fading into a more detailed green for the trees. yellow grass fading into a more detailed green/mixed. It looks very good to me and I'm sure it looks better IRL. Its hard to see particular details in the trees, but the grass looks very nice and I definetely get a feeling of space and debth. I am very happy and dont feel that you need to be concerned with the colors that you selected; they are perfect IMO.

One minor thing I felt when I first looked at it... The horses seem to just kinda be there so I looked closer. The shadowing for the animals is a bit sparce. Also between the right horses feet and to the right of the tail there is a reduction of detail and it looks a little highlighted on the edges.

Very nice artwork.

have fun,

Bocote

jerryW
04-15-2003, 06:28 AM
nice overal,
I most like the left horse for the treatments of color and shading, perspective and form

Ginette
04-15-2003, 11:37 AM
Since your question was about depths, I tried to demonstrate how maybe a little more depths can be achieved.
The trees far back have less saturation even though they are darker.