PDA

View Full Version : Brush care concern

Devoted 2Art
02-08-2012, 04:02 PM
Hi - Hoping to find some information that is likely already available but I'm unable to locate it. I am somewhat new to acrylics and invested in a large quantity of quality artists paint and brushes based on ratings and other artists information. My favorite brushes are Robert Simmons Titanium, Winsor & Newton Eclipse, Winsor & Newton Artists's Acrylic, Escoda Robusto Tekady, Modernista Tadami etc. Good brushes are expensive and I generally keep them thoroughly clean & lying flat during my painting sessions which keeps them in prestige condition. I find by dedicating so much to brush care is impeding on actual painting time. Though I do have many brushes of inferior quality for gesso, large areas and scrubbing that I'm not overly concerned about they aren't good for everything and lose shape quickly. It seems many acrylic artists leave the brushes in use immersed in water and I've never attempted it. Does keeping the brushes in water like that cause permanent damage? I use a lot of brushes during my sessions and would love to learn that the damage may be minimal and the trade off is worth the extra painting time but I don't want to test it without at least some input from experienced artists.
I use the mostly the following paints if that make a difference.
Background, primer, cover-up. Holbein Colored Gesso, Matisse Background Color, Turner White Gesso.
Intermediate larger areas - Matisse Flow, M Graham, Maimeri Brera.
Final layers - Old Holland, Lasaux & Matisse Flow.
Mediums - Matisse Painting Medium, Old Holland Glazing Medium.
Brush cleaners - W & N Brush Cleaner & Restorer, Savvy Soap, Pink Soap.
(I've tried Master's but it did more damage to a slightly damaged brush.)
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thank You - John

idylbrush
02-08-2012, 04:40 PM