PDA

View Full Version : Rag Doll cat-WIP

Lexycat
02-07-2012, 06:19 AM
Hi all,

This is what I'm working on at the moment, it started out as a coloured pencil/pastel combo, but is really a pastel piece at this stage. Its 14 x 11 on grey ampersand pastel board. I'm a newbie to pastels, so still learning and am wondering does the background overwhelm the cat a bit - there are more red flowers to go in at the left, or does it look ok at this stage?

Thanks to John Bristowe for the photo on Flickr
http://i1040.photobucket.com/albums/b403/Lexycat2010/Image57.jpg

Zoe Sotet
02-07-2012, 06:47 AM
Oh my gosh it's beautiful! Both the drawing and the cat.

There should be a forum just for cat art. I always go straight for them :rolleyes: :cat:

oldwomanpainting
02-07-2012, 06:56 AM
The cat is gorgeous! Love it!

Kanielle
02-07-2012, 10:27 AM
The background doesn't overwhelm the cat. It fits in just fine, nice work!

birdlady
02-07-2012, 10:40 AM
I , TOO, Love this kitty. that face it wonderful and am fascinated with all the colors you used in the fur. In MHO it seems a bit heavy on the left side. I do like the flowers behide the cat and watching to see how they come out. Maybe adding just a bit on the right? Is this what they call a blue seal point?

Laurie

FarmGirl29
02-07-2012, 11:00 AM
Beautiful job on the cat!

skappy
02-08-2012, 02:45 AM
Very good work on the cat Lexy IMHO Keep the bg a little blurred not to compete with the cat I think you will need a few flowers on the botttom right to balance the left one and as you did a little red shades in the fur maybe a few green reflections to hamonise it to the bg but no rush you re doing a very good work and with pastels you will be able to adjust things I have no doubt about the issue wonderful as usual
Robert:cat:

chammi kaiser
02-08-2012, 03:21 AM
That is a very beautiful cat, Lexy.

Bertoni
02-08-2012, 08:15 AM
A :thumbsup: fine looking kitty!

Phranque
02-08-2012, 12:13 PM